The Rise And Fall Of The House Of Jimius

Updates Tuesdays and Thursdays

Chapter VI – 238-233BC

leave a comment »

238 BC – Another day, another province 
I love fighting rebel armies. They’re so s**t. 546 kills to 15 losses somewhere in Greece. A big Gallic force tries to blast through Marcellus’ bridge warriors but he manages to grind them down into an eventual rout. Barbarian infantry are so damn useful in these battles – a warcry and charge into troops crossing the river works wonders. It takes all my men to rout the chosen swordsmen (while they massacre nearly all my legionary troops), but once they fall, the rest follow pretty easily. 

The Dacians sally at Aquincum with another big old army. I play ridge defender and this time, thank God, I withstand the charge, and manage to flank, counter-charge and win a heroic victory. Again the mercenary barbarians prove their sheer doggedness is a massive help. Quintus is gaining more prestige every day. Today he has 2 prestige, tomorrow, he will have more than 2. Just like that. 

237 BC – A truckload of war 
I was just thinking “You know, I’m not at war with enough countries” and sure enough, Greece besiege Larissa with a decent-sized army. The city itself is defended by about 4 units, including 0 archers, so I move the only missile unit I can find nearby next to the city. My faction leader Lucius assaults Iuvavum (yeah, I had to look up the spelling twice) and the enormous fool nobly impales himself on a warband spear, draining the fight from the remaining Romans who flee. Sigh. The Dacians continue to push me back, massacring a new-look Roman force that is moving north. 

Long live Quintus Victor, new emperor of the Julians! 

Marcellus, bridge defender extraordinaire, faces his biggest challenge to date, as three Gallic warlords team up with a full stack of warriors in the name of FINALLY BREAKING THROUGH. Hah! My fighting style is best described here as a lasagne, as I steadily layer on the troops into the beach-head melee, rather than my traditional big charge. This works wonders, and two warlords die with the third fleeing with tail ‘twixt legs and the families of 2400 dead Gauls to write letters to. The fact that both he and the families are illiterate isn’t the point, it’s the symbolism which matters. For the same reasons, I make Marcellus my new faction heir. 


And then the Greeks assault Larissa. They have ballistas, which they fire at my gates while I rush archers from the countryside into position. They manage to burn up the siege ram before it batters down my gate, and so all I have to worry about is wall-fighting. Principes prove adept at this and prevent the Greeks gaining a foothold. Mind, it’s partly their fault for sending peasants up a siege tower. To stop the rest retreating I send my men down the ladders they had just defended against and take the fight to those who remain. Greeks die en masse. My final act is to destroy the siege tower with 100 hoplites entombed inside. Good times. 

236BC – Dropping like flies 
Quintus keeps heading north and besieges Lovosice, but dies for no goddamn reason / old age at the gates. There goes my third leader with his glorious one year reign. Marcellus the Brave is my new leader. Huzzah! 
*throws hat in the air* 
At 33, he’ll hopefully live a lot longer. The remainder of Quintus’ army assault Lovosice and soundly destroy the faction heir holed up inside. What an irony. Iuvavum is resieged and destroyed in a similar way, using skirmishers to winkle out the enemy from their unroutable positions. I’d like to be able to say the same thing about the Greek city of Thermon, but despite being able to use onagers for the first time in a siege environment, I am not successful. HINT: Do not attack Greek phalanxes head on. Generals are wont to spontaneously grow large holes through their person. 

235 – 234 BC – The Dacia, The 
I attack Thermon again and the same happens. The problem with taking a city square is that the only route in is a small road. Each time, the enemy general charges and scatters all my principes without me being able to do much. Gnnngh. I take out my frustrations on more peasants (they burn so well) and Dacians (they’re like colanders by the time I’m out of arrrows). Marcellus’ river asskickers are attacked again but I can tell the Gaul’s hearts really aren’t in this. What they are in, is the river, floating downstream. I bribe me a rebel general to help out my leaderless Dacia-crushers. Who, incidentally, siege and take another city, Porolissum, as a sally goes wrong when they leave the gates open. 

233 BC – Change! 
More Dacian patrols get beaten back, though I am continually taking fairly heavy losses. The falxmen in particular are formidable enemies. The result of several skirmishes is 900 dead Dacians to 600 dead Romans. The typical Roman army at this point is half hastati, principe and warband, and half equite, skirmisher and archer. I need some kind of stabilising thing if I want to do better…hmm….some guy called Marius has an idea. 
The Marian Reforms are enacted, obsoleting all my troops ¬_¬ 

Marcellus has had enough of defending the river and finally strikes for Narbo Martius. It will be mine. Sooooon…

Written by jiiiiim

November 20, 2008 at 7:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

